20 Clues You Might Be A Bookworm

This post is written for the book nerds, book geeks, book lovers, bookworms. Whatever you want to call them. You know who you are. I put this together with the help of fellow bookworms, two are also bloggers. One edited and read my draft, her blog is, http://ajauthor@blogspot.com  She writes reviews on books and movies, very well written! My other blogging friend wrote #13, #14, and #15, if you like those, you should check her’s out too! She writes partially about books she’s reading. http://wp.me/2aSeu

1. Your favorite quotes are quotes from books. 

“I am,” said Aslan. “But there I have another name. You must learn to know me by that name. This was the very reason why you were brought to Narnia, that by knowing me here for a little, you may know me better there.”

― C.S. Lewis, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

2.  Most of the furniture in your bedroom is bookshelves. 

Either that, or you have more books than shelves to put them on which can be also problem. And, if you can’t bear to have your books unorganized, they are arranged by alphabetical order of the author’s last name. I mean, what could be worse than losing a book?

3. You can hardly memorize phone numbers, but you have your(and your family’s) library card numbers memorized. 

You could say them in your sleep.

4. Your favorite electronic is a kindle, and your favorite app is either the Kindle app, Goodreads, or Librivox. 

Also, there are tons of free kindle book lists out there that I find to be very helpful.

5. You want to be an author when you grow up.  While this does not apply to all bookworms, it’s probably safe to assume that most aspiring authors are bookworms(kind of like me!).

6. When you and your friends get together, you do one of the following: Discuss Books, Watch Movies Based on Books, Borrow/Return Books, or maybe even just sit next to each other and read while still enjoying each others company. 

I have done all four of these with my friends.

7. You bribe yourself into doing your schoolwork by promising to read another chapter of the novel you are currently reading when you’re done. 

It always works…

8. Or maybe you don’t have to because one of your school subjects is Literature, in which case that’s your favorite subject. 

I recently finished reading The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom for a school assignment and really loved it!

9. Refrences to books in movies or other books make you way more excited than you should be. 

For example,  Hugo, The Penderwicks at Point Mouette, The Sign of the Beaver, Little Women, and You Got Mail. 

10. All of your favorite movies are based on books. 

The Lord of the Rings, The Giver, The Chronicles of Narnia, Pride and Prejudice…  Yes, I kind of love movies!

Side note: However this does mean that, when it comes to those movies you know what’s happening or going to happen before it happens . So much for suspense.

11. You were geeking out over December 17th(or you decidedly did NOT go). 

December 17th is when The Hobbit:The Battle of Five Armes came to theaters. I did go to see the movie, but I was more excited than makes sense considering my thoughts on The Desolation of Smaug. But, that’s a topic for a different blog post…

12. Your favorite type of “To-Do” list is a list of books to read. 

Mine is currently 75 books long with an additional 25 book long list of books that I want to keep in mind but don’t plan to read anytime soon.

13. You buy used books instead of new ones just so you can smell the ‘musty old book’ smell while you’re reading it.

Value Village has more good books than you might think!

14. As a little kid you always loved the books with lots of pictures, but now if there are too many illustrations in a book you don’t like it because it ruins your mental image of your favorite character. 

This is also a problem with watching movies before reading the book, hence #15…

15. You insist on reading the book first before you watch the movie… Even if it means bringing the book with you to a sleepover and finishing it at 1:59 a.m so you’re able to watch the movie at 2 a.m

And like I said, there’s nothing weird with reading while hanging out with friends. Actually, there kind of is. But “weird” is okay.

16. Just hearing a summary or friend’s recommendation of a book leaves you itching to read it.

For example, The Wingfeather Saga looks so good, I can’t wait to read it, I’m just trying to get that far in my “to-read” list.

17. You often feel like an author can’t captivate you without at least three books(you love series). 

Most of my favorite books are series.

18. You have two posters in your room: A LOTR poster and a poster with diagrammed opening lines of famous novels. 

These novels include Pride and Prejudice, Peter Pan, Fahrenheit 451, and yes, Moby Dick(“Call me Ishmael”).

19. Books always seem to find their way into your pictures. 

Louisa May Alcott at a baseball field.
Louisa May Alcott at a baseball field.
Reading while on the swing.
Reading while on the swing.
A Child's History of the World
A Child’s History of the World
If you look at it closely you will see that the books are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name.
If you look at it closely you will see that the books are arranged alphabetically by the author’s last name.

20. You love characters almost as much as you love their stories. 

  Beregond(Lord of the Rings),Elana(Enchantress from the Stars), Eustace and Lucy(Chronicles of Narnia),Mr. Benedict(The Mysterious Benedict Society), Sherlock Holmes, Anne(Anne of Green Gables), and Jo(Little Women), and the list goes on.


“Books to the ceiling,
Books to the sky,
My pile of books is a mile high.
How I love them! How I need them!
I’ll have a long beard by the time I read them.”

-Arnold Lobel, author of Frog and Toad

15 thoughts on “20 Clues You Might Be A Bookworm

  1. What a fun post! I can even add one – you might be a bookworm if you find yourself speaking like the characters of your latest book. One time after reading a British author I actually said “Blimey” in a conversation.

  2. 1. Totally! “Of course this is in your head, Harry, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t real.” ~Albus Dumbledore
    2. Sort of… I have 2 bookshelves.
    3. Yep!
    4. Too true 🙂
    5. Yeserie bob! I’m a few chapters away from finishing my first novel.
    6. Only a few of my friends are bookworms, but when we meet up we talk abut books all the time.
    7. I should try then when it’s Math time!
    8. Literature is THE BEST!
    9. So true.
    10. Uh-huh! Even the Marvel movies are loosely based on Comic books!
    11. I was super excited, but unfortunately I wasn’t able to go and see it in theaters.
    12. Indeed it is!
    13. Totally! Library books are my favorite kind (of books).
    14. Yep. Recently I was rereading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and my brother walk up to me and asked to see the pictures. So, I showed him the cover. He stared blankly at me. “That’s it?” I nodded. “You’re weird!” He exclaimed before fleeing my bedroom.
    15. It’s pretty much a requirement for me.
    16. I wouldn’t be hooked on Warriors if it hadn’t been for my friend’s constant praise of it.
    17. I adore series. (The Giver quartet, the Harry Potter series, Dear America, Royal Diaries, the list goes on!)
    18. Unfortunately, no; I have a bunch of drawing taped to my wall, and one American Girl poster, but no LOTR or novel diagrams.
    19. Yep!
    20. Oh my gracious, YES!!!! Ginny and Luna (Harry Potter), Cecilia and Samantha (American Girl), Jonas (The Giver), Aslan (The Chronicles of Narnia), and so many more!

    Well, what do you think, Meredith? Am I a bookworm? 😉

  3. Love the list of clues. I myself am a book worm with the hope of being a published author one day. I read the second book in the Lunar Chronicles to my Cousin while I was at my Grandparents house. I think I got her hooked. I will tell her about your site. She will love it.

    1. Thanks!! I’m so glad you found my blog so I can answer your question you put on the library website(I think the librarians stopped “approving” comments, which is why I never responded). I write fantasy, mostly. There’s one project I’m working on right now I explain in detail at my other blog, here– http://onstoriesandwords.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

