Ten Favorite Authors

In case you haven’t realized this yet, I’m obsessed with lists. And, I also rather like authors. Thus, I’ve written a list of my personal favorites which will include: the author’s name, significant/favorite books he/she’s written, best fictional character from his/her books, and a favorite quote(just ‘cuz I love quotes :D).

10. Louisa May Alcott

Significant Books: Little Women(my favorite by her), Little Men, and Eight Cousins

Best Character: Teddy(from Little Women)

Favorite Quote: “I like good strong words that mean something…”

9. N. D. Wilson

Significant Books: Leepike Ridge, Dragon’s Tooth, Empire of Bones, 100 Cupboards

Best Character: Oooooh, Diana Boone, maybe…(from Dragon’s Tooth)

Favorite Quote: “Cowards live for the sake of living, but for heroes, life is a weapon, a thing to be spent, a gift to be given to the weak and the lost and the weary, even to the foolish and the cowardly.” (from Empire of Bones)

8. Lois Lowry

Significant Books: The Giver(and the succeeding series), Number the Stars

Favorite Character: Matt/Matty(from The Giver Quartet)

Oh, and I couldn’t dig out anything too special for a quote from her, but I like the way she describes a place from The Giver, wouldn’t you just love to be in a room like that? 

“But this room’s walls were completely covered by bookcases, filled, which reached to the ceiling. There must have been hundreds—perhaps thousands—of books, their titles embossed in shiny letters.”

7. Charles Dickens

Significant Books: Hard Times, Great Expectations, and A Christmas Carol

Best Character: Pip(from Great Expectations)

Favorite Quote(random, but I can relate to this!): “Spring is the time of year when it is summer in the sun and winter in the shade.”

6. Arthur Conan Doyle

Significant Books: The Adventures, Memoirs, and, Return of Sherlock Holmes

Best Character: Sherlock Holmes, easily. *smiles*

Favorite Quote: Couldn’t find one, sorry…

5. L. M. Montgomery

Significant Books: Anne of Green Gables Series, Emily Starr Trilogy

The Anne of Green Gables books, seem better for sure, but I actually haven’t finished reading them yet(I know, it’s terrible!), but I will, just not until I finish my Goodreads book list. 

Best Character: Anne Shirley

Favorite Quote: “Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”-Anne

4. Elizabeth George Speare

Significant Books: The Bronze Bow, The Witch of Blackbird Pond, and, Calico Captive

Best Character: Leah(from The Bronze Bow)

Favorite Quote: “There was something irresistible about popcorn.”

3. Laura Ingalls Wilder

Significant Books: Little House on the Prairie Series

Best Character: Laura(surprise, surprise)

Favorite Quote: “The only stupid thing about words is the spelling of them.” That’s pretty funny.   

2. J. R. R. Tolkien

Surprised he’s not #1 on my little list? Well, while LotR is the best trilogy EVER to me, the Hobbit isn’t quite as good, and then a few of his books(Farmer Giles of Ham, Smith of Wootton Major)seemed really strange, and if they hadn’t been written by the same person who’d thought up Middle Earth, I don’t see myself even picking them up.

Significant Books: Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, The Adventures of Tom Bombadil(one of his lesser known books, but I liked it; mostly just a collection of poems from Lord of the Rings).

Best Character: Sam Gamgee(from Lord of the Rings)

Favorite Quote: “’I wish it need not have happened in my time,’ said Frodo.

‘So do I,’ said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.’”

And now, for #1. Drumroll please…

1. C. S. Lewis

Significant Books: The Chronicles of Narnia, Till We Have Faces(did you know this book was his personal favorite of everything he wrote?), Out of the Silent Planet, Screwtape Letters

Best Character(besides Aslan): Lucy Pevensie(from Chronicles of Narnia)

Favorite Quote: “I’m on Aslan’s side, even if there isn’t any Aslan to lead it. I’m going to live as like a Narnian as I can even if there isn’t any Narnia.”-Puddleglum, from The Silver Chair


So there you have it, folks! Who are your favorite authors??

9 thoughts on “Ten Favorite Authors

  1. I like this list. Your top five are books I have returned to again as an adult, too. I actually just reread The Bronze Bow, which I liked even more the second time. One author that would be on my top ten is Madeleine L’Engle. She would probably take Doyle’s place in my list. Have you read any of her work?

    1. Thanks! I remember enjoying “A Wrinkle in Time” a few years ago, and have been wanting to read the other books by her, they’re on my “someday list”. Aurelia told me she liked them, so I’ll have to make it a priority. 🙂

  2. So I was stalking your older posts *ahem* and I have to say that THIS MADE ME HAPPY.

    Louisa May Alcott is definitely one of my favorites. She might be third or fourth on my list, but anywho, she’s great. Little Women or Rose in Bloom are my favorites of hers:)

    I hadn’t heard of N. D. Wilson, but that quote made me want to try one of his books. Well-selected;)

    Elizabeth George Speare! Oh my goodness, THE BRONZE BOW. That book is amazing. And so is The Witch of Blackbird Pond!

    Tolkien is amazing. And his poetry! It’s just…wow.

    LEWIS IS THE BESTEST OF ALL THE BEST FOREVER AND ALWAYS. Till We Have Faces blew me away when I read it a while ago. All the layers and texture in that book are fantastic! And that quote…yes…

    (Sorry for all the caps! I get carried away;) )

    1. Ha, I’ve stalked most of your older posts, too, so… 🙂
      Yes, Louisa May Alcott!! I love Little Women for the characters and time era, but I also adore Little Men(have you read that one?) for all the funny stories, and how well she develops each boy. So good! Oh, and I think some of my first writing aspirations were inspired by Jo March, so that’s a plus, too.

      N D Wilson- Well, I’m a rather reluctant and unsure fan, but I like the way he writes and his character development, but not always the stories themselves. My favorite is the Ashtown Burial Series(the first book is called Dragon’s Tooth). He’s also a Christian, which I like, even though you might not know that just from reading his books.

      Unfortunately(and this will change soon), the only books I’ve read by C. S. Lewis are the Chronicles of Narnia and Letters to Children(a collection of letters he sent to young fans). But, the Last Battle- even if the last six books had only been mildly interesting, the last page of the last book would make the series. Really, really good. 🙂

      Oh, and no need to apologize for the caps, I tend to get a little excited when discussing my obsessions, too.

  3. Hi! This is my first time on your blog, and loving it so far. We have such similar taste in literature! Doyle, Alcott, Lewis, Montgomery, Dickens and Wilder are all among my favorite too!! (Last names don’t take as long as full names do. =)

    If you happen to be interested, I’m hosting a Louisa May Alcott reading challenge on my blog this month. Just pick any book(s) written by Louisa (or written about her) to take part. One of the books I’m currently reading is her novel entitled “Rose in Bloom”. Would you like to participate too?

    Looking forward to reading more of your blog!

    Blessings,
    Tarissa
    http://InTheBookcase.blogspot.com

    1. Hello, Tarissa! Oh, yes- it’s always very exciting to find people who share similar book interests, I’m so glad to hear you love those authors. 🙂
      Thank you for checking out my blog, I also just followed yours, so I’m excited to see your posts.
      As for the Louisa May Alcott challenge, I just might have to do that. “Rose in Bloom” has been waiting on my Goodreads list for awhile, so this is a good excuse to finally pick it up. 🙂 I’ll get to work on that soon. Thanks for inviting me!

      Meredith

  4. I love your top choices! My favorite authors are C.S Lewis, J.R.R Tolkien, Mark Twain, Gail Carson Levine, Madeleine L’Engle, etc . . .
    My favorite quotes from a Christmas Carol are: “‘Business!’ cried the Ghost, wringing his hands again. ‘Mankind was my business. The common welfare was my business; charity, mercy, forbearance, and benevolence were all my business . . .'”
    And, “‘Have they no refuge nor resource?’ cried Scrooge.
    ‘Are there no prisons?’ said the Spirit, turning on him for the last time with his own words. ‘Are there no workhouses?'”
    As for quotes from the Chronicles of Narnia, there are too many amazing ones to put down here, but my favorite coincides with yours!

    1. Ooh, yes I’m with you about too many good Chronicles of Narnia quotes. C. S. Lewis is so quotable!!
      And, that Christmas Carol quote, so funny. 🙂
      I, too, like Gail Carson Levine(although I’ve only read one of her books), Madeleine L’Engle, and Mark Twain, but didn’t have room to fit them into a list of ten. 🙂

Leave a Reply

