Best 5 Fictional Villains

Villains are examples of where people and characters diverge. In real life, we like the bad guys and shudder over the bad guys. But, in literature, we love the villains for being so bad. We appreciate them for their nastiness. So, here they are, and in no particular order.

Count Olaf  

from A Series of Unfortunate Events

I’m not sure how he slid into the list, but I like him, somehow, he’s sneaky like that. (: Only one eyebrow sits above his eyes, he’s the master of disguises, former VFD member(if I remember correctly), and quite the bad guy. Together with Esme, they could do nearly anything. Well, except outsmart the Baudelaires, that is.

Saruman

from Lord of the Rings

Tolkien develops the White Wizard better than Sauron, though in the end Sauron is Middle Earth’s main, strongest villain. I’ve always wondered why that is. Anyone know?

“His speech was smooth as butter,
yet war was in his heart;
his words were softer than oil,
yet they were drawn swords.”  -Psalm 55:21, ESV

Doesn’t this verse fit Saruman perfectly?  

 Jadis(a.k.a. the White Witch) 

from The Chronicles of Narnia

My favorite appearance of hers is in The Magician’s Nephew. 

Loki

from various Marvel movies

His sarcasm, origin(Norse mythology; also where we got the names of our days from), and costumes are quite awesome. I haven’t seen him in the Thor movies, but I’ve heard good things. 🙂

The Wicked Stepmother

from 2015 Cinderella 

As a huge member of the LotR fandom, watching Cate Blanchett(Galadriel!) play a unlikable, thoroughly evil character hurt. But I got over that. I loved watching the newer movie dive deeper into a character after the original story and cartoon had barley scratched its surface.


“Every villain is a hero in his own mind.”- Tom Hiddleston, actor for Loki

So, those are mine, who are your favorites?

6 thoughts on “Best 5 Fictional Villains

  1. While i have not read the books, two months back i watched the movie of A Series of Unfortunate Events. I did indeed enjoy Count Olaf (as a villain, not as an “uncle”).
    Saruman is also a decent villain. But, i don’t really like Lord of the Rings, so…
    The first time i read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, Jadis sent shivers up my spine. I guess it’s just her enchanting way of speaking.
    I LOVE LOKI! When i first watched Thor, i had the hugest crush on him (Loki). But, now i’ve just gone into the extreme fangirl phase along with all my friends.
    I have yet to see the new version of Cinderella. I really want to watch it (mostly, i admit, because the actor who played Bellatrix in Harry Potter is said to play the fairy godmother; i must see that).
    You’ve just inspired yet another blog post of mine 😉

    1. Haha, that’s awesome. I couldn’t exactly say I’m in the Loki fandom, not THAT excited about him, but he struck me as a perfect villain, and I have to watch the Thor movies now. 😀 You haven’t read the Series of Unfortunate Events? They’re terribly weird and the ending is awful, but I think you’d like them.

      1. Uh-oh. Terribly weird? Awful ending? *groan* Now I HAVE to read this book series!
        Haha, at least you were soft about not being a Loki geek. One of my friends stared at me like I was a lunatic (or, a crazier, more-dangerous lunatic than I already am) and was like, “Why do you like Loki?…He’s a villain. The villains are bad.” I wish I had known that quote by Tom Hiddleston when she said that 😉

  2. Yes!!!! (I need to finish my post on this same topic one of these days…)

    All of the villains you listed are great!

    Ah, Sauruman. Well, Sauron was technically just a servant of Melkor, who was the ultimate Middle-earth “baddie,” and then Sauruman was eventually persuaded onto the “dark side,” so I guess the difference is Sauruman is more relatable than Sauron? I guess because Sauron was a different race than Sauruman’s (I think)…yeah, I’m just flaunting any knowledge I gained from The Silmarillion right now…I’m really happy to have finished that book;) Ok, SOOOOO rambling…

    Jadis! Loki! Evil stepmother! All great:D

    1. You were going to write a similar post? That’s so funny! We definitely seem to think alike. 🙂
      I like your explanation for Saruman. My Dad also suggested that Tolkien wanted to maintain a mysterious element in Sauron’s character to make him creepier.
      Congrats on the Silmarillion! I really need to start that someday, it just sounds a little *cough*, intimidating, haha.

Leave a Reply

