A Long-Expected Movie: A Review of the Hobbit Trilogy

So, I finally got around to re-watching it. Here’s what was running through my head, and please excuse the length. 🙂

Elements of the Film Which Didn’t Bother Me

Legolas’ presence

Bringing Legolas into the film held potential. We know from LotR, Legolas is the Elf King’s son, so it stands to reason he’d be there and witness or even potentially assist in the dwarves’ capture. In the Hobbit, The Elf King is almost presented as a villain, and his son(in LotR) a hero. This clash raises questions: Would Legolas approve of the dwarves’ captivity? Would he feel any guilt later toward Gloin’s son-Gimli? All that to say, I wasn’t opposed to Legolas in the Desolation of Smaug at. It was with Tauriel they went wrong. Without Tauriel, Legolas never would’ve ventured to Laketown and without Kili, she probably wouldn’t have, either(a detail I’ll discuss later). Without Tauriel, he would’ve stayed happily in Mirkwood where he belonged.

Trilogy

Some people held second thoughts on Peter Jackson’s motives for stretching the movie into thirds rather than keeping it whole. Maybe he did do it for the money, but does that really matter? It just means more room to include all the good parts from the book, right? Except, not. Instead, the extra film time was filled with completely made up scenes.

Lord of the Rings Characters who weren’t in The Hobbit(book), but still showed up in the movie

Galadriel. Saruman. Lobelia(if only briefly). Frodo. Bilbo(the older). Legolas. I didn’t mind so long as they didn’t awkwardly disrupt the main plot movie, or change the Middle Earth history Tolkien created. Unfortunately, some did both.

Problems I Did Have with the Series

Tauriel and Kili’s Relationship– We don’t need romance to enjoy a story(which is why there wasn’t any in the book!), particularly between a dwarf and an elf. Quite unrealistic, actually.

The excessive orc appearances– Just because the orcs proved popular villains from Lord of the Rings doesn’t mean they have to show up in each Hobbit movie.

Disturbing Middle Earth’s History

The pale orc was a great bad guy and all that, but technically he died long before the dwarves’ quest.

The absence of funny scenes…and addition of others

The parts Peter Jackson cut out where…

  • Gandalf adds dwarves in twos as he speaks to Beorn.
  • Gandalf keeps the trolls up till dawn by imitating their voices/arguing with them.
  • Bombour falls unconscious for much of the Mirkwood journey, and can only think of food once he wakes.

 And I could go on… Now, it’s not that the funny bits they added weren’t funny, it’s just that the time could’ve been used to include the pieces from the book which I thought funnier anyways.

Alfred

Was he really necessary to the movie??

My Favorite Elements

  • Richard Armitage’s acting as Thorin who falls progressively deeper into his gold-obsession.
  • The music. Howard Shore is incredible. The Desolation of Smaug was a bit of a disappointment(in more ways than one!), but the soundtrack for The Battle of Five Armies and A Long Expected was awesome.
  • The scenery. *adds visiting New Zealand to bucket list* 😀
  • Martin Freeman as Bilbo. He’s absolutely perfect for that role.
  • “The Last Goodbye” it’s so, so, sad, beautiful, and a good way to include Billy Boyd without giving him an acting role and thus again changing the book. 🙂 I always liked his song from RotK.

  • The bittersweetness. Even the winter colors seem bittersweet somehow…

Well, I better cut off this review now before it grows any longer. Thanks for bearing with my ramblings! I’m still taking in the fact that this is goodbye to Peter Jackson’s Tolkien movies. No more countdowns, midnight showings(;D) or trailers. But there’s always re-watchings, movie marathons, and extended editions, right?

Rating: 3 stars

What are your thoughts?? How would you rate the trilogy?


“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”-Dr. Seuss        An oddly appropriate quote. (:

3 thoughts on “A Long-Expected Movie: A Review of the Hobbit Trilogy

  1. Oh my goodness. I’m tearing up because of how applicable that Dr. Seuss quote is…

    Great review! I go back and forth on this trilogy myself–in some ways, I like it, and in some ways, I don’t (I guess like pretty much any movie XD)

    I’m totally with you on the Tauriel/Kili thing. Just. Why. Okay, the end of their relationship was acted well, I grant, if you could manage to not think about how ridiculous their relationship was…

    Heehee, but I’ve gotta say, I loved Alfrid (why do they spell his name so weirdly?) in TBotFA 😀 I don’t know why, I think he was just a great comic relief for me;)

    Richard Armitage and Martin Freeman are always great, aren’t they?:)

    YES THE LAST GOODBYE! The Battle of the Five Armies was my favorite, I have to say–I loved how they tied into LotR at the end to help those LotR fans cope with the finality of it all:’)

    Well done!

    1. I’m so glad you commented and gave me another excuse to ramble more about it. 😀
      The Dr. Seuss quote; I know!! When I read that I was like, “THIS is something Tolkien fans should hear.” 🙂 It’s perfect because I was quite sad to see the magic end. Like so sad I was crying even though I almost NEVER cry during movies. . .
      Yes!! I didn’t realize how dumb their relationship was till tBoFA; I’m usually not very good at picking up cheesy/lame elements in movies, but this was an exception. Blah. 🙂

      It’s spelled Alfrid? Ooops, well all I can say is if he were in the book, I’d know how to spell it. 😉 But, yes, I did like scenes with him at times(Alfrid: “Nothing gets past me, sir!” Bard: “Except an army of elves, it would seem.”). 😄

      I think AuJ was my favorite, but tBoFA was more epic(if that makes since). I really got all worked up about it being the LAST Tolkien movie ever and watched every trailer they made and went on opening day(though not opening night, I’m afraid). I’m sooooo glad they invited all those old actors back one last time even if it did mean diverging a little from the book.
      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

