Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

Monica and I are working on a goal of reading/watching all of the Disney princess movies. Our first movie was Cinderella. Monica’s next pick was Snow White.

The Book(called Snowdrop)

My Review– It’s difficult to review Grimm’s fairy tales as they’re completely different in writing style and genre from my usual reading selections. Snowdrop is no exception. The characters were weak(besides, perhaps the queen), the writing quality hard to critique since it’s translated from German, and the setting vague. But, as a fun, simple fairy tale, I found it entertaining.

Rating: 3 stars

Favorite Character: The Wicked Queen

Monica’s Review(in interview form): 

Q. Did you like the book? A. No

Q. Why not? A. It was kind of kiddish.

Q. Is there anything you did like? A. Snow White was my favorite character.

Q. Which was your favorite part? A. Probably when the first dwarf said, “Who stole my bed?”

Q. Would you recommend this book? A. I would, to some of my friends who like fairy tales.

Rating: 2 stars

Favorite Character: Snow White

The Movie

My Thoughts:

Favorite Character: The Queen

Rating: 2.5 stars

Favorite Scene: “High, ho! High, ho! . . .”(whatever that scene is called)

Monica’s Thoughts:

Favorite Character: Grumpy

Favorite Scene: The scene in which the dwarves wash off Grumpy.

Rating: 4 stars


And, some lines we enjoyed:

“High, ho! High, ho! It’s home from work we go!” -The Dwarves

“Mark my words, there’s trouble a’brewing!” -Grumpy

“He says it’s a monster, sleeping in our beds!” -Dock

Snow White: “I said, ‘How do you do?'”   Grumpy: “How do you do what?”

Thanks for reading! What do you think of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves?

Leave a Reply

